What is a conservative?

One favoring traditional views and values.” (from: conservative. (n.d.). The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition. Retrieved November 27, 2007, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/conservative)

That makes me a conservative.

I read this article from Bob Novak.  Why does he redefine conservative? Isn’t he really trying to define Republican? I get that a plank of the Republican platform is low taxes. I also get that Mike Huckabee had a part in raising taxes in Arkansas. Fair to point out. But, why then, don’t they point out that he also had balanced budgets (and a cash surplus at the end of his term)? If not a Republican plank, a conservative value – don’t overspend.

I’m not supporting Mike Huckabee because he is a Republican. I support Mike Huckabee because he represents my Values.

I think the power brokers in the GOP should recognize that a majority of the population desires independence from the Islamic society that despises us. And they should recognize that the majority of the population expects secure borders for our protection. And they should recognize that the majority of the population expects the protection of the innocents. And to a certain limit that protection goes toward the children of illegals.

Someone once said to me that as a homeschool family I probably resent paying school tax. The truth is quite opposite. I benefit from an educated population – less crime, more productivity, etc. I just want value. A government that outspends its income can never be considered conservative. I always vote to raise taxes to buy equipment for the police and fire departments. I never vote to raise taxes to enlarge government.

So don’t let the media redefine what you are. Stay with the traditional values of Mike Huckabee.

“Strictly speaking, conservatism is not a political system, but rather a way of looking at the civil order.” – Russell Kirk.

Leave a Reply

