Catholics for Huckabee

I was surprised to receive an e-mail today telling me that Catholics aren’t supporting Huckabee in Michigan. Now, I’ll be first to admit that I missed a lot of news while I was on Christmas break. But, I am pretty sure that I am still supporting Huckabee. My wife is still supporting Huckabee. In fact we know several Catholics that are supporting Huckabee.

The e-mail went on to say that we should focus our recruiting efforts on the Evangelical churches – and certainly not the Mormons. Now, I’m not going to presume that the author is anti-Catholic. But, there are many Evangelicals who are.

Really, I don’t care. As Americans, you are entitle to express your ignorance of religion (or anything else for that matter) any way you choose.

I’m going to venture out into risky territory. The Bible encourages all of us to be servants. Allow me to go out on the limb, the bible encourages husbands to be considered the head of the house and (now hanging upside down by my knees) the wives to be obedient. I think one reason is that the wife’s behaviors are reflections of the husband’s leadership. Now, I don’t really intend to get into a discourse about roles of women in biblical times or anytime in history and especially in our family. But, let this thought set up my point.

So, in that light, as supporters of Mike Huckabee, let us all follow his leadership and NOT exclude any group. Let us NOT disparage any religious affiliation. If Mike Huckabee is going to win, he will need support from all segments of America.

Here are some Catholic supporters of Mike Huckabee

Kevin Tracy

Catholicsforhuckabee

The Catholic Knight

Many others – look for yourself.

Leave a Reply

