Feminist Philosophers

Steven Covey says, “Begin with the end in mind.” So, my last sentence first.

In the case of the unborn, the innocent, the prevention of abortion is about protecting a life, not interfering with one.

I’m not sure how I got there, but, I ended up on a wordpress blog called Feminist Philosophers. There is a lot of very mature content, so, I’m not going to link it. But, I did check. If you google Feminist Philosopher you can get there.

Anyway . . . there is a post from one of the readers that suggests that since the government has control over women’s bodies (preventing abortion), then why shouldn’t the government force vasectomies. Filed under “reproductive rights.” The suggestion is that it will prevent unwanted pregnancies. Of course the post is a farce (I hope) and only intended to initiate thought that government preventing abortions is somehow unfair to the pregnant woman.

Government control of citizens is not new. In fact we face it everyday. As much as I wanted to drive my 1971 Buick GranSport at 120 mph everyday, it was illegal. The main reason is that it isn’t safe. Driving that fast may kill some innocent bystander (not to mention myself).

As much as some people want to walk through the mall shooting the lightbulbs out of the ceiling, gosh, it’s just not safe – innocent people could be killed.

I even saw a documentary on base jumping. People climb up a building and parachute off. Again, just not safe for the people walking the street beneath them (and once again illegal).

In the case of the unborn, the innocent, the prevention of abortion is about protecting a life, not interfering with one.

Leave a Reply

