A sad story

A young woman aborted her twins.  Then in grief, hung herself.

The Guttmacher website has a presentation called “An overview of abortion in the United States” that I’ve been posting clips from.  One of the slides, talks about the long-term safety of abortions.  The last bullet is:

Abortion does not pose a hazard to women’s mental health.

Obviously, their study is not supported by this woman’s tragedy.

This issue alone is enough reason to stand with Mike Huckabee.

8 Responses to A sad story

  1. David says:

    This young woman clearly had a pre-existing mental condition, and to say that she committed suicide because of her abortion is unfair, not only to her, but to the many rational women who choose to have abortions after being raped or in cases where their own health is in danger.

    Also, do you so ardently support Mike Huckabee on all of his positions? Such as the indefinite quarantining of AIDS patients, whom he likened to those carrying the Plague?

  2. fortyfour says:

    David, if you had read the article, then you would know that she left a suicide note that says she regretted her decision and had to be with her babies. The article also says she struggled with the decision and that she didn’t get the counselling she should have received. To pretend, as Guttmacher does, that abortion does not cause some level of mental instability is ignorant. Some people may be more predisposed to go over the edge. My point is that 3 people died in this tragedy – not one. The death of the two, lead to the death of the third.

    There is no perfect candidate. But, in the early 90’s, there were people that did call for the quarantining of AIDS patients – just as we do for TB patients. Today, there are some that say that the onset of AIDS and the abuse of the medications has helped create the antibiotic resistant strains of staph that we are seeing. What do you think the reaction of the families of TB patients is when they hear that verdict?

  3. David says:

    I did read the article, and noticed the lack of evidence for a causal link between the abortion and her suicide. Her notes point to her state of mind at the time of her act, but can’t be counted upon to reveal the deeper psychological issues at work.

    Additionally, we allow many behaviors which cause degrees of mental instability in our society. Having children is a very good example! Working two jobs only to barely be able to pay your bills. If causing a degree of mental instability is the criteria for behavior that should be legally disallowed, then we wouldn’t have very busy lives at all.

  4. fortyfour says:

    David, thanks for spending time here and for your thoughts. I don’t agree with them. But, that’s OK.

    From the article, “I told everyone I didn’t want to do it, even at the hospital. I was frightened, now it is too late. I died when my babies died. I want to be with my babies: they need me, no-one else does.” I am no expert on suicide. And no doubt that this lady had issues in her life. But, in her own words, she links the abortion to her own death. In this very case, she demonstrates that abortion does affect mental health.

    The fact is everyone suffers from depression, anxiety, stress, and other mental conditions at one time or another. Most people do not commit suicide. Obviously, this lady felt strongly that terminating her babies was a mistake and that she needed to be with them.

    I’ll give that many people commit suicide without having an abortion, most women that have an abortion do not commit suicide, and that people commit murder without a desire to commit suicide.

    I’m not asking you to agree with me that abortion is an abomination. I hope that in my thoughts I may plant a seed that opens your thought to another view.

    You and I would agree that people should be treated with dignity and respect regardless of gender, sexual orientation, color of skin, or religion. Probably, we would also agree that slavery in America was wrong. But, that 150 years ago, there were Americans who thought slavery was alright. Of course, there were those that didn’t.

    Those against slavery managed enough support to pass the 13th amendment. It ended slavery in all states. At the time, there were still supporters of slavery. But, the will of the majority prevailed.

    I think that the dignity and respect we give to others regardless of gender, sexual orientation, skin color, religion also applies to the unborn. And, I will continue to support candidates that believe that life begins at conception. Without Life, you won’t have liberty or the pursuit of happiness.

  5. David says:

    And thank you for appreciating the respectful exchange of ideas. 🙂

    I should make it clear that I don’t condone abortion in all cases. I feel that it is only justified when conceiving a child wasn’t the conscious, rational choice of the mother (as in cases of rape), or when the mother’s health is seriously jeopardized by continuing the pregnancy or by childbirth. Outside of those instances, in my view, abortion is an abomination.

    Your slavery argument is well-taken. I’ve used the same premise many times before, but in a different context. People argue that same-sex marriage should be disallowed because the majority of the country feels that way. But at one point in our history, the majority of the country felt it was okay to own and enslave other people. Did that make their position correct? Absolutely not.

    I sincerely hope that one day the abominable cases of abortion will be outlawed. But I strongly feel, and it’s been the point of my previous comments, that demonizing abortion is not the proper route to achieve this aim, as it alienates those who have a sincere need for the procedure. Saying that this woman’s abortion directly caused her suicide does just that, and places a negative stigma on a procedure that should be available to select women.

  6. fortyfour says:

    I won’t shout people down, nor will I intimidate women outside the clinics. But, just as I would feel responsible to speak out if I see someone debasing a person of color or strike a woman or child, I feel I need to speak out about abortion and the the distortions that it proponents use to preserve it.

  7. Please help us get this video out to Texans by posting it on your blog, then emailing a link to all the Texans and all the Huckabee supporters you know! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhApGSuT2BY

    Thanks, and GO HUCKABEE!

  8. […] that committed suicide after having an abortion. I got in a long tete-a-tete with one reader about my post. I referenced the Guttmacher study that claims women do not suffer mental illness after […]

Leave a Reply

