We’ve made a difficult decision

Our family has decided to return to the south. It was a difficult decision to leave the friendships and the state that we have come to enjoy. But, it is time for us to return to our families back in Texas and Louisiana.

I grew up in the military. I may have had a couple of Christmas celebrations with my grandparents, forget birthdays. Taking my children away from home helped me recognize that being closer to home is important.

Some of our regrets:

  1. The weather here is fabulous – I won’t see any June days that start in the 50’s.
  2. We won’t get to vote for Jack Hoogendyk to unseat Sen Levin.
  3. OneMom will take me off her Michigan Bloggers list
  4. Some great friends at work and church.
  5. Weekends at Higgins Lake

Blogging is going to be pretty sporadic for awhile. I hope you still stop by.

4 Responses to We’ve made a difficult decision

  1. onemom says:

    I’m sad!

    šŸ˜¦

    After several years in South Carolina, I came to describe the weather as being in two seasons “hot and not so hot”. I missed the cool mornings and clear changing of the seasons.

    Just because you won’t be on the “Michigan bloggers” list, doesn’t mean you won’t be on my list at all! I enjoy our visits, and though you won’t be in the Mitten State, thanks to the internet, our conversations will go on.

    Oh, by the way … I understand going home … it’s why we’re back in Michigan. To quote Dorothy “there’s no place like home …. there’s no place like home”.

    Safe journeys. Keep us posted as to your schedule and progress.

  2. jh says:

    Well I am excited šŸ™‚

    Are you coming back to Louisiana šŸ™‚ or will it be Texas šŸ˜¦

    If it is Louisiana I can add you to the “daily” Liuisiana catholic blog update šŸ™‚

  3. fortyfour says:

    Thanks OneMom.

    JH,
    We haven’t decided on Texas or Louisiana yet. I’ll be working in Orange, TX. So, it’s my choice.

    Texas has no income tax and better home school laws. SW Louisiana has a slightly better housing market and we both have family in Lake Charles (not to mention being able to watch the Saints every weekend).

  4. jjok says:

    from a Houstonian, I say good luck to you in the move…..

Leave a Reply

