President Obama, John McCain, and Just a pebble

As a person who has never judged based on skin color, I am not overly impressed by the accomplishment of Barack Obama.  I can, however, acknowledge that Black Americans should feel significant pride that they can be elected to the single most important position in the world.  I can only hope that he becomes the most successful president in history, one that protects innocent life.

I watched John McCain’s concession speech.  I feel he was incredibly gracious.  I feel that, of the two candidates, he is significantly more accomplished and prepared to be President.

I started this blog to help Mike Huckabee become the 44th president.  That, obviously, didn’t work out.  I’m ok with that.  We should understand the past, but, don’t dwell on it.  The purpose of this site was to sustain life through politics.  In 4 years, Mike Huckabee will probably run again.  And so will some other qualified candidates.  That list probably includes Sarah Palin and possibly Bobby Jindal.  When the time comes, I’ll select my candidate and throw full support behind him or her.

I’m of an age that I find myself in a position to mentor some of my younger coworkers.  I tell them that they can throw themselves in, bulldoze people and projects, get things done, and leave a lot of people really ticked off.  Lots of successful leaders do that.  But, there’s another way to be just as successful.

Clearly identify the goal, treat people with respect by recognizing their viewpoints and their diversity, and have an explanation when you select a different path.

Pascal said, “The least movement is important to all nature.  The entire ocean is affected by a pebble.”

I learned a lot from getting so involved in this Presidential election.  And, I influenced it.  Not to the extent I wanted, but, I convinced many people to support Mike Huckabee.  AND, I got even more to at least consider him.  Me, just a pebble.

Since FortyFour no longer has the significance it once had, I’ll be starting over at

Just a Pebble.

Visit me there soon!

Your Friend,

Vince

One Response to President Obama, John McCain, and Just a pebble

  1. Nick says:

    Will check out the new site! Thanks for staying involved… the fight to protect innocent life is, obviously, far from over, and there’s a ton we need to be doing even here locally with upcoming legislative and statewide races.

    Important 697 some odd days in front of us here!

    –Nick
    http://www.RightMichigan.com

Leave a comment